We're not just about books – we're also your source for local online newspapers.
Get current issues of The Lede and AL.com articles, along with back issues of The Press-Register. For national and world news, our patrons can access The New York Times from home or on a library computer.
Read Current News
NewsBank
Includes current articles from AL.com and The Lede. Remote access is available 24/7 on any device with your current library card.
The New York Times
Newspaper Search
Access World News Research Collection
Explore and stay informed on local, national, and international topics, people, and events. Features a wide variety of credible, vetted news sources from around the world.
Access World News: U.S. Newspapers
Community History Archive
EBSCOhost Search
Ethnic NewsWatch
Resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives.
Gale In Context | Elementary
Gale In Context | Middle School
Gale In Context | Opposing Viewpoints
Gale Power Search
HeritageHub
MasterFILE Premier
Full text for general reference magazines and publications covering a wide range of subject areas.
Mobile Register on Newsbank
Explore archived issues of the Mobile Register with full-color newspaper pages and individual articles. Microfilm back files going farther back are at Local History & Genealogy.
Newspaper Source
Provides cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of national (U.S.), international and regional newspapers. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts from major networks.
NewspaperArchive
Covering Alabama history from 1830-2017. Local newspapers include: Mobile Daily Commercial Register and Patriot, Mobile Register and Journal, Mobile Tribune, Sunday News Item, The Mobile Item, The Mobile News Item, and The Mobile Times.
Points of View Reference Source
Regional Business News
Provides full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
The New York Times
